Home and Back

Home and Back

I hadn’t had a chance to say here “we’re hooooooome!” from Albany Med.

I’m bummed about that, ’cause now we’re back.

Joey was feeling off to us Sunday night and Monday – we thought maybe he was having a bad time of it with teething. His cry was a little different, he couldn’t settle into himself, etc. There was a follow up X-ray scheduled for Monday afternoon, and I am so so so so GRATEFUL that I listened to him and went. His chest fluid was back, more so than our first admission here. Boo.

The plan is to hold steady and see how he drains. There has been a lot of political stuff going on behind the scenes due to ego – and it makes me want to SCREAM. Long story short, his local surgeon isn’t talking to us because we were in Boston for his last surgery. Does anyone remember why we went there instead of doing it here? If not, please review

The cardiac nurses here are unreal, and we couldn’t feel more taken care of. I trust them to the point where I have spent a few nights a home in order to recharge.

I am in awe of the support you continue to give us, and how our community is growing – both spiritually and in size.

LOVE you.

20131002-172708.jpg

5 thoughts on “Home and Back

  1. Rebecca, being somewhat new to the group, I did not know. My heart and thoughts and prayers are very much with you and your family and lil Joey. I guess he really is a pea ♥ I will pray, I will donate, and I will share. Much love to you!

  2. OK, for real, I know I don’t know you well, but you are one of my heros. Last year my baby was in the PICU with a rare disease and it was scary and traumatic and also one of the most powerful growing experiences of my life. My experience gives me a tiny window into yours, helping me to understand how amazing you, Joey and your whole family are. You might hear this a lot, but it must continue to be said. Let me know if you ever need a visit in the ICU to drop off a latte or a meal or whatever and chat or breathe with you.

  3. Amen to what Taina said! The strength you and Chris have is a beautiful thing. I mean I know you have no choice, but how you are sharing your story and being real is so inspiring. I am so happy to have met your family. I know we all are…

  4. Joey is so lucky to have you, Rebecca, as his mother. You are amazing. Your mama’s heart and determination and grace is astounding. I have enjoyed getting to know Malcolm; he is super sweet and so gentle, so sensitive and tender. Hug your family for me. Lots of love and prayer…

Leave a Reply

